Click here for the Glossary page
Click here for the main index of the Burton Latimer Heritage Society site
Click here to return to the previous page

Burton Latimer County Junior School
Football Team - 1957-8

Burton Latimer County Junior School Football Team - 1957-8

The County Junior School football team from the 1957-8 school year is shown here. The teaching staff are (left) Mr Pentelow, headmaster, Mr White (centre) and Mr Chambers (right). This was the team which had just won the Kettering & District Schools Football League - the first time a Burton school had achieved that. As a matter of historical interest, the jerseys were dark maroon in colour!

Back Row: 1. Richard Cholerton, 2. Richard Farrow, 3. Martin Elmore, 4. Roger Drage, 5. Bev Cox, 6. Robert Mills, 7. Richard Beeby, 8. Alan Desborough, 9. Phil Sturman, 10. Kenny Newman

Front Row: 1. Brent Mawby, 2. Pat Stokes, 3. Robin Sharp, 4. Roy Walker, 5. David Moisey, 6. David Hodson, 7. Tony Granger

As a further point of interest, football teams in the 1950s generally lined up in a 1-2-3-5 formation: Goalkeeper, Right Back, Left Back, Right Half, Centre Half, Left Half, Right Wing/Outside Right, Inside Right, Centre Forward, Inside Left and Left Wing/Outside Left. The first choice team in the photo are the ones wearing the jerseys. Reserves are dressed in normal clothing. The usual line-up for this team was as follows:


Robert Mills

Right Back

Tony Granger

Left Back

Roger Drage

Right Half

David Moisey

Centre Half

Roy Walker

Left Half

Pat Stokes

Right Wing

Martin Elmore

Inside Right

Robin Sharp

Centre Forward

Alan Desborough

Inside Left

Brent Mawby

Left Wing

David Hodson

Click here to return to the index of school team photos

Click here to return to the Main Index
Click here to return to the Sport & Leisure Index